A focus on learning languages

Nellie N
2 min readNov 14, 2022

I’m not exactly the most active writer on medium, but until now I’ve mainly been writing short fiction (also some other miscellaneous things like a semi-failed attempt to read a ton). But now I also want do to something else, and that something else is languages.

Photo by Hannah Wright on Unsplash

I’ve been trying to write more long-form things when I write fiction but that has left me with very little to post on medium, which means I don’t have a lot of new short stories to post and very little activity on my part here. That’s why I figured I will just change what I write about to cover something I actually am doing regularly. Which ended up being learning languages! I don’t think it’s a huge niche or anything, or at least I haven’t seen a lot of people write about languages on here (though if you do know about any language-focused medium writers then do feel free to drop a link in the comments). But if I’m having fun doing it and would do it anyway, then I guess it doesn’t really matter?

So what I’m thinking I’ll do is just use my medium articles as a kind of progress log for language learning for now. I like to learn languages, and already know various amounts of a few. I’m a native Swedish speaker, I’m typing this in English right now, I learned some German in school (not enough to be fully fluent), I know about enough Japanese to read a book and get what’s going on from context even if I don’t…

--

--

Nellie N

I'm mostly just writing about my language learning progress. I also wrote some short stories.